Green Monster Smoothie

Image

Don’t run away, I promise it is good.

Pinky swear

But yes, I’m telling you to put handfuls of raw spinach in your smoothie.  Such an easy way to get those greens in!  There are tons of green monster “recipes” floating around the interwebs, here is my contribution.

Ingredients:

  • one or two frozen bananas.  (see photo below for freezing instructions)
  • two handfuls of raw spinach (when I cant get local, I buy organic baby spinach from Costco and freeze in portions, just shove two handfuls in a Ziploc bag and freeze)
  • peanut butter (depends on how much you like, a spoonful gets the job done)
  • milk, about a cup or so, depending on blender size.  I use Almond milk
  • add ins, whatever you like.  I’m partial to ground flax seed and a little coconut oil
Image

freeze banana by cutting into two inch sections and freeze on a parchment covered baking sheet

We have a Magic Bullet blender that I love (dishwasher safe!) so depending on what blender you use, your method might be slightly different

Place bananas and some milk in blnder cup

Image

Add spinach, peanut butter and any additions

Image

Add enough milk so mixture will easily blend.

Blend, blend, blend

Image

I know, it looks a little crazy

I swear, it tastes like a milkshake

Seriously

Image

Clink glasses and say cheers with local two year old

Image

Who will promptly demolish his and steal yours

Let me know how you like it.  What do you add to yours?

8 thoughts on “Green Monster Smoothie

  1. I have never thought about freezing spinach!! I feed a family of 1 (me) and Costco’s produce is such a good deal sometimes, but can’t justify it for myself. That is an awesome idea for smoothies!

    And last time I *tried* spinach in a smoothie, it was spinach and blueberries and at the bottom it was just all gritty gross.. Never tried with a banana, though I’ve used them in other smoothies.

    I may attempt the spinach craze again!

  2. Pingback: Food Haul 3.28.13 | Real Food in a Real World

  3. Pingback: Real Food for Real Toddlers | Real Food in a Real World

  4. Pingback: Food Haul 9.27.13 | Real Food in a Real World

Leave a Reply

