Slow Cooker Chicken Tacos (or Nachos)

Image

I am the Goldilocks of Crock Pots.  I actually own three of them.  I have a tiny one for dips, a medium size one that used to be my one and only, and now a huge 7 quart programmable one.  It’s nice when you know you have a crazy day, that dinner will be simple that night.  I don’t know if I can call this one a “recipe,” but this is a nice simple meal for us on those crazy days.

Slow Cooker Chicken Tacos/Nachos/Whatever device you like

Let’s Get Cooking

Ingredients:

  • Taco Seasoning (I have always made my own, let me know in the comments if you want me to post my recipe)
  • 2-3 boneless, skinless chicken breasts (I get free range from Natural Local Food Express)
  • tomato, onion, bell pepper, chopped (whatever you have in the house and need to use up.  Leftover salsa is great too)
  • liquid to prevent sticking (water, stock, broth, beer.  The choice is yours)

Dump everything in your slow cooker, with enough liquid to prevent the chicken from cementing itself to the inside of your cooker (don’t ask how I know these things)

Image

Cook on low for 6-8 hours.  Mine is programmable, so I usually set for 7 hours and it will switch to the “keep warm” feature after 7 hours.

Shred the chicken with a fork and you are ready to eat!

Dress it up however you like.  We like nachos here

Image

my boys nacho creations, with some shredded cheese and Calder Dairy sour cream

I don’t eat dairy, so mine (header photo) is topped with avocado and some delicious green leaf lettuce.

You could probably serve the chicken in an old shoe and it would be delicious.

Enjoy!

5 thoughts on “Slow Cooker Chicken Tacos (or Nachos)

  1. Crockpot chicken has to be one of the best inventions ever. Is your crockpot Hamilton Beach? I have one of those programmable ones that will switch to “warm” after it’s done – genius!
    I need to try to do my own taco seasoning one day; I’d love for you to post your recipe. Ortega just seems so much easier somedays, even though there are so many unnecessary things they throw in there!

  2. Pingback: Taco Seasoning | Real Food in a Real World

Leave a Reply

