Slow Cooker Roasted Chicken

Slow Cooker Roasted Chicken realfoodinarealworld.com

One of my Costco weaknesses is always the rotisserie chickens.  It’s $5 and makes at least two meals in our house.  I have no idea where the chickens they use come from, or if they are local.  I also can’t run to Costco every time I want to make a quick chicken dinner.  So, lets learn how to make a rotisserie style chicken in the slow cooker.

I get whole chickens from Pure Pastures and cook them in my big crock pot.  You can just lay a whole washed bird in the slow cooker with no liquid, set it for 8 hours on low and it will make falling-off-the-bone chicken.  But if you want something closer to a rotisserie style, I will let you in on the secret.

Foil balls.

That is the only difference!

Let’s get cooking!

  1. Wash and pat dry your chicken
  2. Coat your birdie with some olive oil, and then with a rub of your choice.  (I just use some Montreal Steak seasoning and some paprika.)
  3. Make some foil balls and lay them on the bottom of your slow cooker (for my big oval pot, I use about ten balls with a one inch diameter)
  4. Place your massaged birdie on top of the foil

Slow Cooker Roasted Chicken realfoodinarealworld.comCook for 6-8 hours on low

That’s it!  You don’t have to add any liquid or anything.  It won’t be crispy like a rotisserie, due to lack of big pretty flames, but it will be super tasty.

Image

Especially tasty with latkes and a salad

3 thoughts on “Slow Cooker Roasted Chicken

  1. Never heard of this! I love chicken in the crockpot because it falls off the bone, but this sounds like a great, healthier alternative to the Costco rotisseries I usually buy..!

  2. Pingback: Finding Time for Real Food | Real Food in a Real World

Leave a Reply

