Apple Celebration Salad

Apple Celebration Salad realfoodinarealworld.com

I seriously can’t come up with a proper name for this dish.  I serve it as either a side dish or a desert.  It’s a warm, comforting dish with no added sugar.  I can’t find enough information to tell me if it is Paleo or not because of the raisins, so feel free to weigh-in on this my dear Paleo enthusiasts.  Try it, tell me what you think!

Ingredients:

  • 2 apples, diced
  • small handful of raisins, I prefer golden
  • coconut oil, approximately a tablespoon or so
  • cinnamon
  • ginger

In a small saucepan, melt coconut oil over medium heat and add apples.  Stir occasionally for a minute or two and add raisins.  As the raisins warm, they will become slightly syrupy when they mix with the apples.  Add some ginger and cinnamon.  I’d love to give a measurement, but if you are familiar with this blog you know I’m no fan of measuring 😉  Just add more of what you like, and less of things you don’t.  Or leave things out, it’s your kitchen and your rules!  Stir your mixture occasionally until your apples are cooked to your desired tenderness.  Serve warm.  I’m sure it is also good cold, but I can assure you that it will not last that long.  The coconut oil imparts such a good flavor, I highly recommend not substituting that if at all possible.

3 thoughts on “Apple Celebration Salad

  1. Pingback: Real Food to Go 11.4.13 | Real Food in a Real World

Leave a Reply

