Food Haul 5.16.13

Food Haul Header

A little bit of a quiet week here at the Real Food House.  Local toddler got sick, really for the first time.  It was sad and pitiful and no sleeping was to be had.  We mostly looked like this:

IMG_9119-001

I am happy to report that he is feeling much better and I almost feel human again after a few good nights sleep.  Things got pushed back, and not much cooking got done.  My fridge is still full, so this week was just a bitty box from Door to Door Organics.

IMG_9184-001

After careful thought and consideration, he selected a banana and grapefruit

IMG_9196-001

From Zingermans  we got a brownie for local hubby and some Challah bread that will be used for the best French toast in the world.    A Mitten Munch berry lemonade bar, lots of yummy fruit, green beans, some greens and a Tiny but Mighty popcorn sample.

Food costs from Door to Door was $32 this week.

I also popped in to my local Westborn Market for the first time this week.  What a cute store!  Full of tons of local goodies!

IMG_9115-001

Picked up some quick items since not a lot of cooking was getting done between a sick kiddo, Mothers Day, and some family events.  Two types of bread, pita, dry beans, avocado, tortilla chips, spinach dip and some hamburger and hotdog buns for the freezer.  I don’t have my receipt handy but I know my total was around $30.

So total food costs for the week was $62.  I am pretty happy with that.

What did you buy this week?  Try anything new?  Discover anything local?

Want to learn more about Door to Door Organics?

One thought on “Food Haul 5.16.13

  1. I love Westborn (and their bacon is sugar-free and nitrate free)!

    Semi-related.. The Lean Green Bean (http://www.theleangreenbean.com/foodie-penpals/) runs a monthly foodie pen-pal matchup, where you have a $15 limit and get someone’s name and you send them a box a goodies, and someone else sends you a box of goodies. I loved Westborn as a great place to find local Michigan stuff to send to my penpal when I did it.

    It’s a fun program if you’re interested in checking it out! Lindsay does an amazing job at organizing it!

Leave a Reply

