Food Haul 6.20.13

Food Haul Header

I’m sorry I have been kind of blog absent!  I can give you 100 excuses why, but I won’t bore you with my life story.  Stick with me, I promise the good stuff is coming!  I try to keep up on social media outlets, you can find me on Facebook, Twitter, and Instagram.  I just discovered Instagram, it is so much fun!

Anyways, down to the food.

As is our summer ritual, we started Sunday off at the Canton Farmers Market.  I forgot to take a picture of everything together, but we bought some Swiss chard from Hand Sown Farm, some cinnamon honey baked almonds from Nana’s Nuts, and chocolate chip cookies from Kapnicks.  The real star of the show was my flat of non-GMO pesticide free strawberries from Prochaska Farm.

ImageAs of this writing I am halfway through the flat turning them all into low sugar freezer jam.  Total at the Farmers market was $33, of which $25 was the strawberries.

Click here to learn more about Farmers Market shopping!

Because Sunday was Fathers Day, hubby got to choose what we did.  He wanted to go to Holiday Market on our way home from the farmers market.

ImageWe bought coffee from the coffee bar and strolled around the store.  He picked out some spinach dip & chips, and cannoli.  We also picked up some marked down organic blueberries, avocados, and a few boxes of pectin for my jam making.  Can’t find my receipt anywhere, I’m guessing we spent $30.

Last up is Door to Door Organics.  As always, a cute story first.  Local toddler and I were picking up our box and the only item in the extras bin was peaches.  Local toddler refers to Door to Door Organics as “oranges” and all the workers know him as the orange monster.  The always awesome Mike got my boxes and brought kiddo an orange.  He held it on the way home, when at a stoplight I noticed my car smelled delightful…

ImageSo we had the orange with lunch.

And now the food!  My counters are covered with jars of cooling jam, so lame pics today.

Image

The ever present Calder Dairy milk and some Thomas Organic Creamery blueberry yogurt.

ImageLastly we have the bitty box of goodies.  Yay corn!  Added some Ann Arbor Tortilla Factory chips and Avalon 313 whole wheat bread since I do not have the time to be bread baking right now.

Spent $39 at Door to Door Organics this week, so our total for the week is $102.  Not too shabby because I’m expecting to have 16 pints of local organic low sugar strawberry jam to show for that as well.

Leave a Reply

