Food Haul 7.19.13

Food Haul Header

Happy Friday real foodies!

Buy anything interesting this week?

I know the weather across the country is hot.  Michigan is borderline unbearable right now.  We have actual temps in the 90’s with heat indices in the 100’s.  It’s been a sweaty week!  Local toddler craves the outdoors so we have been out every day.  Putting your feet in a very cold wading pool does make it much more tolerable!

This week in food was another slightly strange week.  I skipped my Door to Door Organics order, only because I had a full fridge and didn’t need anything.  We ended up being invited to family dinners a few nights and found ourselves with a full fridge! 

I did go to the Canton Farmers market on Sunday and picked up a few items.  No pictures because it was hot and I rushed everything to the fridge/freezer.  I bought a whole chicken from Garry at Pure Pastures, 5lbs of blueberries from Kapnicks, some beautiful purple “Dragon” carrots from Hand Sown Farm.  I also bought a tasty savory pastry that had tilapia, potato and red pepper.  I can’t find the business card anywhere but I think the business name was “Classique” or something around those lines.  Prices were $7, $25, $3 and $5 for a total of $40 at the market.  The blueberries are in my freezer waiting to be turned into sauce! 

I hit up Aldi this week in search of chicken and brown rice for my sick doggy.  I’m incapapble of only buying what is on my list.  I picked up some Bolthouse green juice and some red pepper hummus, my two favorite Aldi items.  I nearly fainted in the meat area when I saw that they now carry grass fed beef!  It was under $5 a pound!  I know nothing about the quality or location, but what an exciting find!   As you may know, I have $500 worth of beef in my freezer so I didn’t buy any but I would love to hear an opinion if anybody has tried it or knows more!  I know I spent $40 at Aldi but most of that was a ton of chicken and some brown rice and pumpkin for local German Shepherd.  She’s all better now!  The vet told me she had colitis and asked me about the stress in her life.  Really?  Dogs have stress?  I want her life!

I’m writing this late Thursday night and I just got back from a late night run to Kroger.  I needed almond milk for my morning iced coffee and local hubby requested cookies.  These two items managed to cost me $35.  Every time!  This is why I try not to go to the grocery store, I can never just buy one or two things.

Image

After I took this photo I grabbed another almond milk and two more bags of cookies.  Newman O’s and alphabet cookies were on clearance!  I also grabbed vanilla extract, cinnamon, and diced tomatoes all on clearance in the organic section.  Those Blue Diamond coconut almonds are amazing.  A few too many ingredients to be considered real food, but so delish!

Now keep me away from the grocery store!

I had big plans to visit a few other markets this week but this heat is just too gnarly to be shopping in.  Or I’m a weenie.  Either way, I will get out to visit some more markets soon!

Where did you shop this week?  Try anything new?

Leave a Reply

