Crisis Cooking: Veggie Lo mein

Image

Happy Meatless Monday real foodies!

Today I’m sharing a “recipe” that I use quite often on my crazy days.  I affectionately refer to those crazy days meals as “crisis cooking.”  Crisis cooking is when I realize we need to eat dinner in half an hour and I haven’t even thought about dinner yet.  I don’t know that I would call this a recipe per se; perhaps better terminology would be a guideline.

Veggie Lo-mein

pasta of choice, angel hair or other thin pasta works well but I used linguine noodles and my boys loved it.

contents of your vegetable drawer.  Really, you can add anything!  Dice/slice your veggies to be relatively the same size.  For the example pictured I used carrots, zucchini, green bell pepper and green beans

teriyaki sauce (or preferred sauce)  You can make your own teriyaki sauce by beefing up your soy sauce with some sugar, garlic and ginger but honestly I usually buy mine.  We really enjoy the Soy Vay Veri Veri Teriyaki sauce.

Directions:

Cook your pasta according to package directions.

While pasta is boiling, slice and dice your veggies.

Drain pasta in colander

Using the pot that cooked the pasta (I hate dishes), add a small amount of oil (enough to keep the veggies from sticking) and begin to saute the veggies at a medium-high heat.  Add teriyaki sauce to taste.  When veggies are tender, toss in pasta and serve.

Told you it wasn’t a recipe!  This is a great way to use up random veggies you have sitting around.  Even cabbage is great, just dice into small pieces!

I know this wasn’t a detailed “recipe” but as part of Real Food in a Real World my aim is to show how an average family eats.  This is a very typical Meatless Monday dinner around our house right now!

Leave a Reply

