Real Foodie Costco Trippin’

 

I have been in desperate need of a stockpile grocery trip.  Here at the Real Food House, we usually do two major stockpile trips a year, a monthly refill and then our weekly day-to-day items.  There have been lots of changes in schedules, budgets and diets in our home.  We are trying to find the balance and aren’t there yet.  My husband works a ton of hours at a very physically demanding job, so we know we need to fuel him properly.  Local toddler eats a ton of food, I’m honestly shocked how much a 2.5 year old can eat!  I have also been making changes to my diet.  I’m lowering the amount of carbohydrates I eat and loosely carb cycling as a Diabetes prevention.  (I have rampant Diabetes on both sides of my family and I myself have PCOS so I’m trying to keep myself healthy.)  All of these changes are having a major effect on our grocery budget and our eating.  We are trying to figure it all out while still eating as local as possible.  Once we get our heads above water I will be doing lots of freezer cooking to attempt to make my life easier, stay tuned!

So, about that stockpile trip to Costco

I’m in amazement of all the good real food sold at Costco!  I’m having phone issues so I didn’t really get pictures to share.  Costco has really been stepping up their game in the Organic foods lately.  I picked up organic spinach and organic baby kale for a steal, I think they were a pound each for $4+.  My hubby picked up some brown rice sushi and we also found some smoked wild caught salmon.  We also found some wild caught salmon burgers that I’m excited to try.  We are trying to eat more healthy fish so we are working our way in slowly and starting with already prepared items.  Speaking of fish, they had a 6 pack of Wild Planet Foods wild Albacore tuna for $14.99 which is a steal if you have seen how much this stuff costs for a single can!  I’ve never tried it before because of the price, but I know that sustainable seafood is expensive so we took the plunge.

My husband was looking for some shelf stable “just add water” type of items to keep in his locker at work and found some vegan noodles that looked enticing.  Some other “must have” items we get at Costco are peanut butter, organic sugar, unbleached flour, walnuts, avocados, bread, sausage, English muffins, cheese, lunch meat, and I was super excited to find Happy Squeeze pouches for local toddler (these things are awesome to keep in my purse for an emergency snack or special treat if we are out.)  We also grabbed the organic corn tortilla chips, they are so good!

I also get paper products, laundry products, and a plethora of other items at Costco.  I love to buy things from local small stores and Door to Door Organics but it is wonderful to be able to stock my pantry back up while on a budget.  I’ve also heard wonderful things about Costco and how they treat their employees and pay a fair wage so I’m happy to give them business.

Do you shop Costco?  What are some of your favorite items to buy?

3 thoughts on “Real Foodie Costco Trippin’

  1. Love my Costco trippin’!

    My list almost always includes, in order of appearance: Avocados, bananas, massive bag of broc, organic spinach, raspberries (if in season), Coleman organic chicken thighs (YUM; either buy them there or PP), EGGS and EGGS and EGGS, frozen strawberries, almond butter. Once in awhile I’ll pick up the GoSqueez things, too.. perfect for in-between workouts if I’m doing more than one!

Leave a Reply

