Whole Roasted Butternut Squash

20131106-153403.jpg

If you love butternut squash but hate the effort it takes to cut, I have good news!

You don’t have to!

We love butternut squash but I have nearly severed a finger trying to cut them in half. I have good knives, but some squash are super hard. A few years ago somebody told me I could roast it whole and I have never looked back!

Preheat your oven to 350F, although I have used other temperatures and the squash was fine (just check for burning if a higher temp)

Wash your squash and make two large slashes in the skin. They don’t need to be deep, just enough to let some steam escape.

20131106-153436.jpg

Place your squash in a pan. I typically cover a 9×13 dish in foil because I hate washing dishes. There may be some sticky residue after roasting.

Roast for approximately one hour. Time will depend on the size and density of the squash. It’s fairly forgiving, I just poke it every once in a while. When I can poke a fork or knife easily into the flesh I know it is done.

20131106-153422.jpg

Remove from oven and set aside to cool. I set mine on top of my oven to cool enough for me to lightly handle

Cut squash in half lengthwise, scoop out seeds to discard and then scoop flesh from skin.

Done! You can puree if you like a smooth texture. You can season to your liking. We like ours plain, I think the roasting process makes it delicious.

2 thoughts on “Whole Roasted Butternut Squash

Leave a Reply

