Try it Tuesday – Immaculate Baking Company Crescent Rolls

I thought I would start a new feature about new products I am trying in the world of “natural” foods.  I aim to eat the bulk of my food as whole real foods, but sometimes we eat things with barcodes too!  I am still getting the bulk of my groceries from Door to Door Organics and they are constantly adding new things to their offerings.  I am attempting to add one “new to me” item to each order to expand my horizons.
image

Today is all about the Immaculate Baking Company crescent rolls.  I love crescent rolls at the holidays!  I also love crescent rolls for making little rolled sandwiches for my 3 year old, as they freeze so well.  I do not love the usual ingredient list.  For example, here is the ingredient list for Pillsbury crescents:

Enriched Flour Bleached (wheat flour, niacin, ferrous sulfate, thiamin mononitrate, riboflavin, folic acid), Water, Soybean and Palm Oil, Sugar, Hydrogenated Palm Oil, Baking Powder (baking soda, sodium acid pyrophosphate, sodium aluminum phosphate). Contains 2% or less of: Partially Hydrogenated Soybean Oil, Mono and Diglycerides, Vital Wheat Gluten, Dextrose, Salt, Potassium Chloride, Xanthan Gum, TBHQ and Citric Acid (preservatives), Yellow 5, Color Added, Red 40.

And here is the ingredient list for Immaculate Baking Company crescent rolls:

WHEAT FLOUR, WATER, PALM FRUIT OIL, CANE SUGAR, BAKING POWDER (BAKING SODA, SODIUM ACID PYROPHOSPHATE), DEXTROSE, SEA SALT, CANOLA OIL, XANTHAN GUM, WHEAT STARCH, NATURAL FLAVOR, BETA CAROTENE (COLOR).

CONTAINS WHEAT; MAY CONTAIN MILK INGREDIENTS

The Immaculate brand is certainly not a perfect whole food, but the difference in those labels is pretty dramatic.  Because of the huge difference in ingredients I honestly did not have high expectations for the product to taste the same as the chemical filled rolls that I so fondly devour at Thanksgiving.

I was pleasantly surprised!  The little bites I tried were a yummy less chemical tasting version of the “real” ones.  My son enjoyed them as well, and I feel better giving him this version.

So what is the downside?  The price.  There is a huge price difference between these and the grocery store/Pillsbury version, probably several dollars difference.  I am a former couponer and I can remember getting Pillsbury for pennies.  When I look from that angle it is difficult to see how much they cost.  But, for your money you are also getting a MUCH better ingredient list and is Non-GMO Project certified.

The verdict:

I will purchase these again.  I love to make little rolled sandwiches for my son to keep on hand in the freezer.  I eat a lot of salad meals and at 3 he is just not that into salads.  Super convenient just to give him the “guts” of my salad and defrost a little frozen sandwich.  Now that I have had a closer look at the Pillsbury ingredients I probably won’t be able to purchase them again.  The price is tough, but I don’t buy them on a regular enough basis to worry too much about it.

Disclaimers:  I buy all these things with my own money from Door to Door Organics.  This is not sponsored.  I just like to share!

One thought on “Try it Tuesday – Immaculate Baking Company Crescent Rolls

  1. Pingback: Simple Crescent Roll Sandwiches | Real Food in a Real World

Leave a Reply

